Google delays Android 11 launch – BBC News

A giant model of the Android mascot - a friendly green robot made out of simple shapes - waves from the street outside Google buildings

Image copyright
EPA

Google has delayed the launch of the latest version of its Android operating system, which had been due to take place on Wednesday, 3 June.

The release of Android 11 for testers has also been delayed.

In a statement on the Android Developer website, it said: “Now is not the time to celebrate,” and more details would be shared “soon”.

It comes as dozens of cities in the US deal with large-scale civil unrest over the killing of a man in police custody.

Google did not, however, specify whether this was the reason for the delay.

The company revealed some details about Android 11 in a preview blog aimed at developers.

“For developers, Android 11 has a tonne of new capabilities for your apps, like enhancements for foldables and 5G, call-screening APIs [application program interfaces], new media and camera capabilities, machine learning, and more,” it wrote.

PS5 games

Sony, meanwhile, is still scheduled to unveil the launch games for the new PlayStation 5, at a streamed event on Thursday, 4 June.

Piers Harding-Rolls, from Ampere Analysis, said it would be an important first showcase for the games that would be available with the device, which has not yet been released.

“If the PS5 event goes ahead without a delay, and clearly the ongoing protests in the US means that a delay is possible, I’m expecting a strong showing from Sony,” he said.

“The company is pressing ahead with a global launch and while there will have been some disruption to games production due to Covid-19, with months to go before release it is easier to rectify the development schedules to catch up.”

Google and Sony have both been contacted by BBC News for comment.

Riot announce Valorant Season 1: Release date & times, regions, more – Dexerto

Valorant

Published: {{day}}/{{monthNameShort}}/{{year}} {{hourTwoDigit}}:{{minuteTwoDigit}}



Updated: {{day}}/{{monthNameShort}}/{{year}} {{hourTwoDigit}}:{{minuteTwoDigit}}



by Andy Williams

Riot Games / Dexerto

Riot Games have announced the launch of Valorant’s first season ‘Episode 01: Ignition’ to release with the official release of the game on June 2.

During a press release on June 1, Riot Games announced that the highly anticipated full release of Valorant will be coming on June 2.

Valorant will be launching with its first season (referred to as episodes) with Episode 01: Ignition. As we already know, this will feature a battle pass-like system, which players will be able to complete on a seasonal basis.

Valorant's Agents.
Riot Games

The Valorant closed beta last just over seven weeks, breaking multiple records along the way.

The teaser image features artwork from Ascent, Italy — which all but confirms that the map will be launching with the game on release day.

Alongside a brand new map, Valorant will welcome a brand new Agent in the form of Reyna, a blood-thirsty Duelist that was teased leading up to release day.

Valorant release date & times

  • Korea, Japan & Asia-Pacific: 4:00 PM (PST – June 1) / 7:00 PM (EST – June 1) / 12:00 AM (BST – June 2).
  • Europe, Turkey, Middle-East, North Africa, Russia & CIS: 10:00 PM (PST – June 1) / 1:00 AM (EST – June 2) / 6:00 AM (BST – June 2).
  • North America, Latin America & South America: 5:00 AM (PST – June 2) / 8:00 AM (EST – June 2) / 1:00 PM (BST – June 2).

Valorant will be releasing through a staggered launch, with Korean, Japanese and Asian servers being the first to go online on June 2.

These will be followed by Europe and surrounding regions six hours later, alongside North America, Latin America and South America 13 hours after that.

Valorant Episode 01: Ignition

Introducing Ascent into the active map pool, Ignition will serve as Valorant’s first season. Alongside a new Agent, players will likely be able to earn a plethora of in-game content right from the get-go.

We already know some details about how Valorant’s seasonal battle passes will work, including how Agent contracts and Radianite Points will tie into the system.